Australia now - GERMANY 2017

AUSTRALIAN FILMS 67th BERLINALE

9. Februar - 19. Februar
Berlin
AUSTRALIAN FILMS 67th BERLINALE

ORT:        Verschiedene Kinos in Berlin

TICKETS: http://www.berlinale.de/de/programm/tickets/index.html

Folgende australische Filme werden bei der diesjährigen Berlinale präsentiert:

 

Berlin Syndrome (Sektion: Panorama)

Australien | Cate Shortland | Europapremiere

Die australische Backpackerin Clare zieht mit dem Fotoapparat durch Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. Als sie den sympathischen Englischlehrer Andi kennenlernt, verstehen sich die beiden sofort. Was als Romanze beginnt, nimmt eine unerwartet finstere Wendung ...

 

Casting JonBenet (Sektion: Panorama)

USA / Australien | Kitty Green | Internationale Premiere

Der neue Film der gefeierten australischen Dokumentarfilmerin Kitty Green ist ein hochintelligenter Versuch, die Fakten über den ungeklärten gewaltsamen Tod der sechsjährigen „Schönheitskönigin” JonBenet Ramsey aufzuarbeiten.

 

RED DOG: True Blue (Sektion: Generation Kplus, Eröffnungsfilm)

Australien | Kriv Stenders | Europapremiere

Der australische Regisseur Stenders begeisterte schon 2011 das Generation-Publikum mit einer legendären Geschichte um einen ganz besonderen Hund. Jetzt wird der rote Hund begleitet vom elfjährigen Mick, dem diese Freundschaft alles bedeutet. Ein Geschichte aus dem australischen Outback, über mystische Abenteuer und erste Liebe.

 

EMO the Musical (Sektion: Generation 14plus)

Australien | Neil Triffett | Internationale Premiere

Regisseur Neil Triffett ist zurück mit seinem Spielfilmdebüt, einem herzzerreißend komischen High-School-Musical über die verbotene Liebe zwischen einem schüchternen Emo und einer aufgekratzten christlichen Aktivistin.

 

Monsieur Mayonnaise (Sektion: Kulinarisches Kino)

Australien / Deutschland | Trevor Graham | Internationale Premiere

Der australische Regisseur Trevor Graham begleitet den Maler und Filmemacher Philippe Mora, der seine abenteuerliche Familiengeschichte erforscht. Sein Vater George Mora alias Monsieur Mayonnaise kämpfte in der Résistance.

 

After the Smoke (Sektion: Generation 14plus, Kurzfilm)

Australien | Nick Waterman | Weltpremiere

Nick Waterman und Bertie Blackman werfen ein Schlaglicht auf ritualisierte Männlichkeit – das Drama nimmt seinen Lauf während eines Rodeos in einer Bergarbeiterstadt im Outback.

 

Smashed (Sektion: Generation 14plus, Kurzfilm)

Australien | Sean Lahiff | Weltpremiere

In Sean Lahiffs Coming-of-Age Thriller laufen auf einer High-School Abschlussparty Jungsstreiche völlig aus dem Ruder.

 

Wolfe (Sektion: Generation 14plus, Kurzfilm)

Australien | Claire Randall | Weltpremiere

Angelehnt an ihre eigene Erfahrung mit einer psychischen Erkrankung als Teenager, zeigt Claire Randalls Film die schwierige Zeit eines Jugendlichen mit unerkannter Schizophrenie und die Beziehung zu seinem imaginären Freund und Verbündeten, Mister Wolfe, die ihm Kraft gibt.

 

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams (Sektion: Forum Expanded, Kurzfilm)

Australien | Karrabing Film Collective

Eine indigene Großfamilie debattiert, warum ihr Bootsmotor zusammengebrochen ist und sie nun im Busch gestrandet sind. Das Karrabing Film Collective ist eine indigene Mediengruppe, die ihre Filmarbeiten als Mittel der Selbstorganisation und Sozialanalyse einsetzt.

Red Dog: True Blue by Kriv Stenders | David Darcy @ Good Dog Enterprises

Australia now - GERMANY 2017

AUSTRALIAN FILMS 67th BERLINALE

9 February - 19 February
Berlin
AUSTRALIAN FILMS 67th BERLINALE

VENUE:   Various cinemas around Berlin

TICKETS: http://berlinale.de/de/programm/tickets/index.html

The following Australian films will be presented at this year's Berlinale:

 

Berlin Syndrome (Section: Panorama)

Australia | Cate Shortland | European Premiere

Australian backpacker Clare is wandering through Berlin's Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg with her stills camera. She meets a friendly English teacher named Andi and they hit it off immediately. Something that begins as a romance takes an unexpectedly sinister turn ...

 

Casting JonBenet (Section: Panorama)

USA / Australia | By Kitty Green | International premiere

From acclaimed Australian documentary filmmaker, Kitty Green, this film is a highly intelligent attempt to revisit the facts surrounding the unsolved violent death of six-year-old “beauty queen” JonBenet Ramsey.

 

RED DOG: True Blue (Section: Generation Kplus, opening film)

Australia | By Kriv Stenders | European premiere

Australian director Stenders delighted Generation audiences in 2011 with a legendary story about a very special dog and now, the red canine is joined by 11-year-old Mick, who treasures his bond with his four-legged friend above all else.

 

EMO the Musical (Section: Generation 14plus)

Australia | By Neil Triffett | International premiere

Director Neil Triffett is back with his debut feature. This heartbreakingly funny high school musical is about forbidden love between a shy Emo kid and a chipper Christian activist.

 

Monsieur Mayonnaise (Section: Culinary Cinema)

Australia / Germany | By Trevor Graham | International premiere

Australian director Trevor Graham accompanies painter and filmmaker Philippe Mora who is researching his family’s eventful past. His father, Georges Mora alias Monsieur Mayonnaise fought in the Résistance.

 

After the Smoke (Section: Generation 14plus, short film)

Australia | By Nick Waterman | World premiere

From writer/director Nick Waterman and co-writer/composer Bertie Blackman – puts ritualised masculinity under the spotlight, as a drama unfolds during a gathering of locals at a rodeo in a remote outback mining town.

 

Smashed (Section: Generation 14plus, short film)

Australia | Sean Lahiff | World premiere

Coming-of-age thriller Smashed by Sean Lahiff is a cautionary tale of male antics veering horribly out of control at an “end of high school” party.

 

Wolfe (Section: Generation 14plus, short film)

Australia | By Claire Randall | World premiere

Motivated by her own encounter with mental illness as a teenager, Claire Randall’s film explores a young man's rocky journey through adolescence with undiagnosed schizophrenia, and the relationship with his imaginary friend and ally, Mister Wolfe, that sustained him.

 

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams (Section: Forum Expanded, short film)

Australia | By the Karrabing Film Collective

An extended Indigenous family argues about what caused their boat’s motor to break down and leave them stranded out bush. The Karrabing Film Collective is a grassroots Indigenous based media group, who use filmmaking as a means of self-organisation and social analysis.

Red Dog: True Blue by Kriv Stenders | David Darcy @ Good Dog Enterprises